Rahul Chahar Makes India Debut; See The Moment Captain Virat Kohli Hands Him Indian Cap And Welcomes in Team (Watch Video)
Rahul Chahar (Photo Credits: Instagram)

Rahul Chahar made his much anticipated international T20 debut for India during the 3rd T20I game against West Indies at the Providence Stadium in Guyana on Tuesday. Rahul, the younger of the Chahar brothers, was selected in the Indian team for the three-match T20 series against India following his impressive performance for India A and Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He received his maiden international call-up for the third and final T20I game after India had already clinched the T20I series 2-0. India vs West Indies Live Cricket Score 3rd T20I 2019 Match.

The 20-year-old was named in team India’s T20I squad for the Windies tour after he had claimed six wickets in just three games for India A leading them to a 4-1 thrashing series victory over West Indies in the Caribbean Island. Chahar was also equally impressive for Mumbai Indian in the IPL last season where he picked as many as 13 wickets from the same number of matches at a modest economy rate of 6.55.

Rahul Chahar Makes His India T20I Debut


View this post on Instagram


Proud moment for @rdchahar1 as he is all set for his T20I debut 🧢🇮🇳🇮🇳👌🏻 #TeamIndia #WIvIND

A post shared by Team India (@indiancricketteam) on

This is also the first time that both the Chahar brothers – Deepak and Rahul – are playing together for India in an international game. Rahul was handed his senior India team debut cap by skipper Virat Kohli making the 20-year-old spinner the fourth-youngest T20I debutant for India. The Chahar cousin brothers also became the fourth pair of brothers to represent India in international cricket.

Meanwhile, India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field first. The Indian team management decided to test their bench strength following the T20I series triumph with a game in hand. KL Rahul was the player other than Deepak and Rahul, who were included in the playing XI for the 3rd T20I game with Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja and Khaleel Ahmed left out.