Shannon Gabriel Charged by the ICC After Hurling Nasty Comments at Joe Root During West Indies vs England, 3rd Test 2019
Shannon Gabriel (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Shannon Gabriel had a heated conversation with Joe Root during the third test on Monday. Joe Root was heard saying, “Don't use it as an insult. There's nothing wrong with being gay.” The ICC has now charged the West Indian bowler for breaching Article 2.13 of the ICC’s Code of Conduct on Tuesday. Article 2.13 addresses personal, insulting, obscene or offensive language directed at other players or match officials. The ICC informed about the charges on social media. Joe Root to Shannon Gabriel, 'Nothing Wrong With Being Gay', Watch Viral Video.

“Shannon Gabriel has been charged with a breach Article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct. The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further. @ICC,” read the tweet by the ICC.

The England captain refused to elaborate on the matter further. “As a player you feel you have responsibilities to uphold on the field and I stand by what I did,” said the England captain, according to the Guardian.

“The ICC have got to handle things and I am not in a position to comment but throughout the series it has been played in the right manner between the two sides. West Indies have played some fantastic cricket, they are a good bunch of guys and it would be a shame if it tarnishes it,” he further said. Meanwhile, West Indies thrashed England by 232 runs.