Former international umpire Simon Taufel claimed it was an umpiring blunder that resulted in New Zealand’s defeat to eventual champions England in the final of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. The officials standing in CWC 2019 made an “error of judgement" in awarding six runs for an overthrow when they should have given five runs, said Taufel dividing opinions among the fans. The controversial statement kept Netizens busy. Simon Taufel Says Umpires Made 'Error of Judgement' in Giving 6 Overthrows During CWC 2019 ENG vs NZ Match, ICC Declines Comment.
"It's a clear mistake... it's an error of judgment. They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six," Taufel, a five-time ICC Umpire of the Year, was quoted by PTI as saying to foxsports.com.au. He was referring to an incident that took place in the fourth delivery of the final (50th) over in England’s innings.
Ben Stokes – keeping England alive in CWC 2019 with a match-winning inning – clubbed a full delivery from Trent Boult to long-on and immediately set-off for a double run. He was completing the second run when Martin Guptill’s throw from the deep hit Stokes’ gloved hand and ran away to the boundary fence.
Simon Taufel Right?
Simon Taufel must hv seen the TV replays properly before making this kind of sensational comments. Read the rules below. good or bad is separate topic. But taufel was right pic.twitter.com/WULmBiD3mG
— Farida (@Farida41905954) July 15, 2019
Confusing Already Confused Fans
— saheel (@_saheel__) July 15, 2019
England Not Worthy Winners?
The winning 2019 England World Cup cricket team have been given a heroes' welcome at Lord's after legendary umpire Simon Taufel highlighted the rule that suggests they should NOT have won the World Cup. Ben Stokes with our man Dean Wilson and England's Eoin Morgan celebrates. pic.twitter.com/lpiEuui6Qv
— Lilian Chan (@bestgug) July 15, 2019
ICC Robbed New Zealand
Is NZ robbed by the @ICC ?
Simon taufel raises the firgers on England 6 runs due to over throw pic.twitter.com/5kEG2LEcY8
— HY Malhi (@Husnainmalhi) July 15, 2019
England Were 'Mistakenly' Awarded One Additional Run
— SportsGridUK (@Sportsgriduk) July 15, 2019
Simon Taufel Playing With Feelings
Run in progress - already crossed! That makes 2! Just playing with feelings is Simon Taufel pic.twitter.com/FzKA2awbQk
— LLE Bin Mughees (@alali3091) July 15, 2019
No One Knows More Than Simon Taufel
Also do you know more than Simon Taufel. 5 time consecutive winner of the ICC Umpire of the year award? 🤔.No. No you don't pic.twitter.com/PWLc7PDg2m
— Michael Williams (@Showalionheart) July 15, 2019
Kumar Dharmasena Could Win an Oscar For Reaction
Pic 1: When you award 6 runs as a result of overthrow and nobody points it out
Pic 2: Simon Taufel points out the mistake pic.twitter.com/e3UWEAdgLz
— Ahsan (@ahsanzawar) July 15, 2019
Dharmasena May Be!!
"It's a clear mistake.. it's an error of judgment. England should have been awarded five runs, not six."
— TC (@TrollCinemaOff) July 15, 2019
Australians Support Black Caps
If Austraila Won World Cup.... Sìmon Taufel Will Close his Mouth 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂.... Australia still not recovered Semifinals Defeat ... Using Simon Taufel to get a Reason pic.twitter.com/rmXMkdTzID
— Cute (@Kavitha70826745) July 15, 2019
England eventually beat New Zealand on count of hitting more boundaries after the final of CWC 2019 remained tied. Both New Zealand and England were level on the score at the end of 100 overs as well as the super over.