Virat Kohli Becomes First Cricketer to Win Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, ICC Test and ODI Player of the Year Awards in Same Year
Virat Kohli (Photo Credits: Twitter)

Virat Kohli’s dominance with the bat has now got ICC’s stamp on it as the Indian cricket team captain becomes the first player in history to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year awards after his fabulous run in 2018. Not only this, Kohli has also been named the captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

During the calendar year, the Indian skipper scored 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests with five hundreds. In 14 ODIs he smashed 1202 runs at an astonishing average of 133.55 with six centuries. In the game’s shorter format, T20I, he scored 211 runs in 10 matches. Virat Kohli Named Captain of ICC ODI and Test Team of the Year 2018.

Kohli earlier finished the year as the top-ranked batsman in Tests and ODIs. The highest scorer in both forms of the game in 2018, he was one of only two batsmen to score more than 1,000 runs in Tests and only among three to do so in ODI cricket.

Kohli outvoted South Africa fast bowler Kagiso Rabada for Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and the ICC Test Player of the Year award and Afghanistan’s spinner Rashid Khan for the ICC ODI Player of the Year award. Rishabh Pant Awarded Emerging Player of the Year 2018 by ICC

Reflecting on the awards, Kohli said it’s a reward for all the hard work. “It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game,” the Indian captain was quoted as saying by ICC.

“To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation,” he added.

Previously, Kohli had won the Sir Garfield Trophy and ICC ODI Player of the Year awards for 2017 as well. He was also the ICC ODI Player of the Year in 2012.