Here comes a big news for Kangana Ranaut, Ekta Kapoor, Karan Johar and Adnan Sami as their names have been declared by the Government as Padma Shri nominees for this year. Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. As we know, the award is awarded by the Government of India on the country's Republic Day, ie. January 26. Padma Awards 2020 Nominations’ List: PV Sindhu and Mary Kom Nominated for Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan As Sports Ministry Sends an All-Women List.

Kangana Ranaut was visibly excited with her new honour and she even released a statement saying, "I’m humbled and I’m honoured. I thank my country for this recognition and I dedicate this to every woman who dares to dream. To every daughter... to every mother... and to the dreams of women who will shape the future of our country." The nominees have been awarded the honour for their excellence in the field of performing arts. Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes Awarded Padma Vibhushan 2020 Posthumously, Mary Kom And Anerood Gugnauth Among Others Featured in The Prestigious List.

Check out the Tweet

Apart from Bollywood celebs, other nominees named for 2020 Padma Shri Awards are Dr Damayanti Beshra and Binapani Mohanty in the field of Literature and Education, Dr Digambar Behera for medicine, Utsav Charan Das, Mitrabhanu Gountia and Manmohan Mahapatra (posthumous) all for art, Batakrushna Sahoo in the field of Animal Husbandry and retired professor Radha Mohan along with his daughter Sabarmatee have been conferred with the fourth highest civilian award. Similarly, Prasanta Kumar Pattanaik has also been awarded Padma Shri in the field of Literature and Education.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jan 25, 2020 09:31 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website