12 Senior Officers of Income Tax Department 'Compulsorily Retired' Under Rule 56: Finance Ministry Sources
File image of Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman | (Photo Credits: IANS)

New Delhi, June 10: The tenure of at least 12 senior officers have been terminated by the Finance Ministry with immediate effect. The unprecedented action was taken by the government on Monday, exercising the less-explored Rule 56 of the Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms.

The bureaucrats who have faced the axe under Rule 56 were linked to the Income Tax department. The senior officers were of the ranks of Chief Commissioner, Principal Commissioners and Commissioner of Income Tax Department, report said, citing Finance Ministry sources. J&K Bank Chief Parvez Ahmed an Effort to Combat Unlawful Activities: Officials

Update by ANI:

Notably, the Rule 56 is exercised to terminate a government's servant's tenure if his or her expulsion from duty is in public interest. The measure is taken only in cases of corruption. The norm allows immediate action against serving personnel who have completed 25 years in service or have crossed the age of 50.