Ayodhya 2005 Terror Attack: Prayagraj Court Sentences Four Convicts to Life Imprisonment, One Acquitted
Representational Image (Photo: Twitter)

Lucknow, June 18: Prayagraj Special Court on Tuesday sentenced four convicts to life imprisonment in 2005 Ayodhya terror attack. The court also acquitted one person in connection with the case. The verdict came after 14 years. The Uttar Pradesh had arrested five people, Irfan, Ashiq Iqbal alias Farooque, Shakeel Ahmed, Mohammad Naseem and Mohammad Aziz, in the case. Special judge Dinesh Chand heard the case. Terror Alert in Ayodhya Following Intelligence Inputs.

Seven people were killed in the attack. The deceased include five alleged Jaish-e-Mohammad members and two local residents. During the probe, the five accused were arrested for conspiring and providing logistic and material help to terror suspects. However, terrorists were gunned down at the site of the incident. Seven Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel were also injured in the attack. Ayodhya Case: Hindus to Agitate if Supreme Court Verdict Against Ram Mandir, Says VHP Chief Vishnu Sadashiv Kokje.

The attack took place on July 5, 2005. The terrorists attacked Ram Janmabhoomi - Babri Masjid complex. However, security forces foiled the attack and the terrorists were killed in the encounter. The terrorists who were initially believed to be from  Lashkar-e-Taiba terror organisation had entered India from entered India through Nepal.