New Delhi, August 6: The Lajpat Nagar-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus corridor of Delhi Metro’s Pink Line was inaugurated today by Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri. The 8.1-kilometre stretch has six stations including two interchange stations – INA and Lajpat Nagar. Commuters can change for the Yellow line at INA, whereas for the Violet line they can get down at Lajpat Nagar. The other stations on this corridor are Sir Vishveshariah Moti Bagh, Bhikhaji Cama Place, Sarojini Nagar and South Extension.

The stretch will continue from Majlis Park-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus section. It is a part of the 58.9 km Pink line. On March 14 this year, Pink lines’ first phase of 21.56 was inaugurated. It connected Majlis Park to Durgabhai Deshmukh South Campus, The phase-II of this line is extended from South Campus to Lajpat Nagar.

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal speech at Metro Bhawan at the inauguration ceremony of 8.1 km stretch of Delhi Metro's Pink Line:

Five of the six stations on the 8.1 km stretch are underground, whereas Sir Vishveshariah Moti Bagh station is elevated. The stretch will be a major advantage for the shoppers of the city as four major markets of the national capital, i.e., Sarojini Nagar, INA, South Extension and Lajpat Nagar will get dedicated Metro stations. The Pink line is now 29.66 km long, and the total operational length of the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) reaches 296 km connecting 214 stations.

The 8.1 Km stretch will reduce the travel time to 14 minutes from South Campus to Lajpat Nagar which was earlier 64 minutes. The 58-Km Pink Line comes under the Delhi Metro Phase III network consisting of 38 metro stations from Majlis Park to Shiv Vihar, both in North Delhi.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Aug 06, 2018 01:30 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website