Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Ahead of Polls, Seven New Political Parties Seek Registration From Election Commission of India
Election Commission of India Building | (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, January 9: Ahead of the Lok Sabha polls which are slated to be held in April or May 2019, seven new political parties on Tuesday sought registration from the Election Commission of India (ECI). The parties include- Bhartiya Vikas Dal-United, Loktantrik Jan Swaraj Party, National Awami United Party, Purvanchal Navnirman Party, Rashtriya Janshakti Samaj Party, Sakala Janula Party and Swatantra Party (Jan). Narendra Modi Will Come Back As Prime Minister After Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Says Nitish Kumar.

In November 2018, the Election Commission had last registered 22 political parties, reports informed. Reports inform that at present, India has 2,000 registered parties and only a few of them are recognised by the EC. According to ANI, seven parties are national parties, while 59 are state-level parties.  Priya Dutt, Former Congress MP From Mumbai North, Will Not Contest 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. 

The BJP and the Opposition parties are trying their best to woo voters for the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls. The Union Cabinet on January 7 approved a 10 percent reservation for economically backward upper castes in government jobs. The new rule would provide benefit to those whose family income is under Rs 8 lakh per annum. Modi Government’s Move of Upper Caste Reservation Is Election Gimmick: Congress.

In the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won with a thumping majority and had won 282 seats. According to details by the Election Commission of India, 814.5 million people were eligible to vote in 2014, with an increase of 100 million voters since the general elections in 2009. The election in 2014 was believed to be the largest-ever election in the world with 814.5 million people eligible to cast their votes.