Mumbai, June 25: In a historic departure from tradition, the upcoming Lok Sabha Speaker election marks the first contested battle for the position since India's independence in 1947. The BJP-led NDA and the INDIA bloc have each put forward their candidates for the prestigious role, setting the stage for a pivotal parliamentary election. BJP MP Om Birla and Congress MP K Suresh have emerged as the nominees from their respective alliances, each vying to assume the crucial role of presiding over the 18th Lok Sabha.

The decision to depart from the traditional norms of consensus on the Speaker's position comes after deliberate discussions and negotiations between the leaders of both alliances. Opposition MP Rahul Gandhi conveyed INDIA Bloc's conditional support for the NDA's Speaker candidate, contingent upon the acceptance of an Opposition leader as Deputy Speaker. However, perceived delays and tensions, including notable walkouts during crucial discussions at Defence Minister Rajnath Singh's office, indicated disagreements. Let's delve into the backgrounds and contributions of both leaders vying for the position of Lok Sabha Speaker. Om Birla vs K Suresh: Lok Sabha Speaker Election To Be Held for the First Time Since 1946, Both BJP-Led NDA and INDIA Bloc Nominate Their Candidates.

Who is Om Birla?

Om Birla, a BJP MP from Kota-Bundi constituency in Rajasthan, has been nominated as the NDA's candidate for the Speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha. Known for his grassroots connect and administrative acumen, Birla has been a Member of Parliament since 2014 and has actively contributed to parliamentary proceedings. It was in 2019 that Birla assumed office as the Lok Sabha Speaker after being unanimously elected during his second term in Parliament. Notably, he is the first Lok Sabha Speaker in two decades to be re-elected to the Lower House. Birla had won in his constituency by a significant margin of over 41,000 votes, defeating Congress's Prahlad Gunjal in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.  Lok Sabha Speaker Election 2024: NDA Candidate Om Birla vs K Suresh of INDIA Bloc File Nominations for Post.

Who is K Suresh?

Congress MP Kodikunnil Suresh, nominated as the INDIA bloc's candidate for the 18th Lok Sabha Speaker, boasts a rich political career spanning eight terms. Representing Kerala's Mavelikara constituency, Suresh is noted for his seniority in the Lok Sabha, having first been elected in 1989. A member of the Congress Working Committee (Special Invitee), he has also held pivotal roles within the party, serving as the working president of Congress in Kerala and as the chief whip of the Congress parliamentary party in the Lok Sabha.

Despite setbacks such as electoral defeats in 1998 and 2004, Suresh's political journey has been marked by resilience, including a legal battle over his 2009 election victory, which was initially overturned by the Kerala High Court but later vindicated by the Supreme Court.

The contest for the position of Lok Sabha Speaker in the 18th Parliament symbolises a significant departure from historical norms, reflecting evolving dynamics within India's political landscape. With Om Birla representing the NDA and K Suresh standing for the INDIA bloc, both candidates bring substantial experience and leadership to the table.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jun 25, 2024 02:00 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website