Bangaon Lok Sabha Constituency Results 2019 in West Bengal: Shantanu Thakur of BJP Wins Parliamentary Election
Bangaon Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Bangaon Lok Sabha Constituency was declared today. The counting of votes began on the Bangaon Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Shantanu Thakur of BJP defeated TMC's Mamata Thakur by a margin of 1,11,594 votes.

Voting took place for the Bangaon seat in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 73.97 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Bangaon Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Mamatabala Thakur. The MP emerged victorious in the 2016 Lok Sabha Bye-Elections by defeating the CPI(M) candidate – Debesh Das. AITC has fielded Mamatabala Thakur again this time. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI(M) has fielded Alokesh Das, while Congress has announced Sourav Prasad as their candidate. BJP has fielded Shantanu Thakur as their candidate for this seat. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,46,979 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,95,874 are females while 651105 are males. The average literacy rate of the international border constituency with Bangladesh is 76 per cent, and the principal occupations are agriculture and trade. The female to male ratio is 950.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Fifth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 10
Last date for filing nomination April 18
Scrutiny of nomination April 20
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 22
Date Of Poll  May 6
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Bangaon (SC) Lok Sabha elections begun on April 10, which continued till April 18. The scrutiny was done on April 20, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 22. The polling took place on May 6.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 5 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.