24 May, 19:38 (IST)

Here's the final tally: BJP+ 352, Congress+ 91, Others 99. Below is the complete list of 542 winners.

23 May, 20:21 (IST)

PM Narendra Modi in victory speech: Those who attacked us under the garb of 'secularism' have been silenced. It was fake secularism. 

23 May, 20:17 (IST)

PM Narendra Modi in victory speech: The satisfaction of the middle-class people with our government has reflected in these election results.

23 May, 19:59 (IST)

PM Narendra Modi in victory speech: I congratulate the Election Commission, security forces and all those who put together this massive election.

23 May, 19:57 (IST)

PM Narendra Modi addresses BJP workers as party headquarters amid chants of 'Modi, Modi'. "Today we are seeing that each citizen of this country has filled this fakeer's jholi. I thank all citizens of this country and bow down before them."

23 May, 19:38 (IST)

BJP President Amit Shah addresses party workers in Delhi after the party's massive triumph in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The BJP chief began his speech with congratulating the party workers.

23 May, 19:25 (IST)

Home Minister Rajnath Singh and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan are also present at the BJP headquarters where PM Narendra Modi is set to address party workers.

23 May, 19:16 (IST)

PM Narendra Modi has reached BJP headquarters in Delhi. PM Modi met and greeted his party leaders and is set to deliver a victory speech.

23 May, 19:11 (IST)

Arrangements are on at the BJP headquarters in Delhi for PM Narendra Modi's address to party workers on their massive victory. The programme at the BJP office is getting delayed due to rain in the national capital.

23 May, 17:52 (IST)

When asked about the reasons for the defeat of the Congress, Gandhi said that what went wrong didn't matter today. "I have told the Congress workers that we will continue to fight against the BJP's ideology," Gandhi said.The Congress President also conceded defeat in Amethi and congratulated BJP's Smriti Irani for her victory on the seat. "I congratulate Smriti Irani and hope that she will take good care of Amethi," he said.

Load More

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 results will be announced today. Counting of votes across 542 constituencies of India will begin at 8 am. The first trends are expected to be out in the first couple of hours while a clear picture of who's winning may be out by this evening. While the exit polls have predicted a clear majority for the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) parties, it remains to be seen whether the poll pundits got their predictions on point. Both the BJP as well as the Congress are confident of their respective victories. Stay with us for Live updates on the counting of votes for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 results. Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: How To Check Live Numbers And Winner Names Fastest On Mobile, TV News Channels And Official EC Website.

On Wednesday, the Election Commission of India (ECI) rejected the Opposition's request for counting the Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) slips before Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). The ECI said that the counting procedure will not be changed. The leaders of as many as 22 opposition parties had met the EC on Tuesday and demanded verification of VVPAT slips of randomly-selected polling stations before the counting of the votes.

Watch: How to Check Live Results

“We told the EC that the VVPAT machines should be counted first and if there is any discrepancy, then all of them in that segment should be counted. During elections, there were many EVMs which malfunctioned and in many cases, when votes for one political party were cast, it showed votes for some other party, especially the BJP. These things we have told the EC. We, in the last three-four years, have been complaining about the EVMs in Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and even in states,” Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said after the meeting. Catch complete coverage of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 here.

Following EC's decision, volunteers of several Opposition parties began camping outside strongrooms were stationed there till counting of votes is completed.

Ahead of the results, hectic parleys have been on within political corridors. While Opposition leaders have come into a huddle with each other to chalk the way forward, BJP President Amit Shah hosted a dinner meeting for the party and its allies on Wednesday.

Voting for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 took place across India in seven phases. Voting for the first phase of polls took place on April 11 and the final phase polling was held on May 19. The results will be declared on Thursday, May 23.