Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Voting Ends in Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura, and Khagaria Constituencies, 59.97% Voter Turnout Recorded
Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Araria, April 23: Polling in 5 out of 40 constituencies of Bihar concluded at 5 pm on Tuesday in the third phase of the seven-phased 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. The 5 constituencies that went for the third phase elections were Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura, and Khagaria. 59.97 percent voter turnout was recorded till 6 pm. In the first phase, voting took place in 4 seats while in second phase 5 seats went in to poll. The voting in the remaining 27 seats will be held in the remaining phases from April 29 to May 19. Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency Wise Dates Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The main contest was between the alliance of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)- Janata Dal-(United) and Indian National Congress-Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). In the third phase, the key constituencies were Araria, Madhepura, and Khagaria. Twelve candidates participated for the Araria constituency which went to the polls on April 23. The key candidates in the Araria constituency for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 were Pradeep Kumar Singh of BJP, Tarachand Paswan of Bahujan Mukti Party, Sarfaraz Alam of Rashtriya Janata Dal and Ram Nrayan Bharti of Bahujan Samaj Party. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

The voting took place through Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) and VVPAT (Voter-verified paper audit trail) machines at every polling booth. Voting in the remaining 27 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state will be held in the remaining phases from April 29 to May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23 and the same day results will be declared.

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, the BJP had won 23 while the Congress had just managed to win two seats. RJD and JDU won 4 and 2 seats respectively. Meanwhile, The parliamentary polls in the country are taking place in seven phases between April 11 and May 19.