Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency Wise Dates Of Voting And Results For General Elections
Image used for illustration purpose (Photo Credits: LatestLY)

New Delhi, March 10: Constituency-wise dates of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 were released on Sunday by the Election Commission of India (ECI). As per the schedule released by Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, voting in the parliamentary constituencies of Bihar will be held in 7 phases, beginning from April 11. Results will be declared on May 23.

Below is the Full Seat-Wise Schedule of General Elections in Bihar:

  • 4 seats (Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada, Jamui) to be contested in phase 1, scheduled on April 11.
  • 5 seats (Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Banka) in phase 2, scheduled on April 18.
  • 5 seats (Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura, Khagaria) in phase 3, scheduled on April 23.
  • 5 seats (Darbhanga, Ujiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai, Munger) in phase 4, scheduled on April 29.
  • 5 seats (Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Hajipur) in phase 5, scheduled on May 6.
  • 8 seats (Valmiki Nagar, Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Sheohar, Vaishali, Gopalganj, Siwan, Maharajganj) in phase 6, scheduled on May 12.
  • 8 seats (Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Kurakat, Jahanabad) in phase 7, scheduled on May 19.

With a total of 40 parliamentary seats, Bihar is a crucial battlefield in fight for Delhi. The coalition gaining majority of the seats in Bihar increases its prospects to form the next government at the Centre. In 2014, Bihar, along with other parts of North India, was swept by the Narendra Modi wave -- which allowed the BJP to register is best-ever electoral performance in the state. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule And Dates: Voting In 7 Phases, Results On May 23 (Watch Video):

In the last general elections, the BJP had won 22 seats, whereas, its allies LJP and RLSP bagged 6 and 3 seats, respectively. The RJD won 4 constituencies, whereas, the Congress and the JD(U) were reduced to 2 each.

Notably, the anti-BJP bloc had not formed a pre-poll alliance ahead of the last elections. This time around, however, pre-poll coalitions have not only been formed, but also rejigged. The JD(U) is back into the BJP-led NDA fold, whereas, the RLSP has switched over to the Mahagathbandhan led by the RJD-Congress combine.