BS Yediyurappa Wins Trust Vote in Karnataka Vidhana Soudha Through Voice Vote
BS Yediyurappa wins trust vote in Karnataka Assembly (Photo Credits: ANI)

Bengaluru, July 29: The newly sworn-in Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa on Monday won the trust vote through voice vote during the floor test in the Vidhana Soudha. Earlier, speaking in the Assembly, the CM highlighted the farmers issue. He announced to give two installments of Rs 2000 to beneficiaries under PM Kisan scheme from state's side. The Karnataka CM also appealed to the opposition to work together for the development of the state. BS Yediyurappa Takes Oath as Karnataka Chief Minister.

Yediyurappa said, "There is drought. I want to address farmers' issues. I've decided to give 2 installments of Rs 2000 to beneficiaries under PM Kisan scheme from state's side. I appeal to opposition that we must work together. I appeal to House to unanimously express confidence in me." Yediyurappa took oath as the new CM of the southern state on Friday, three days after the HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) government lost trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly.

ANI's Tweet:

A day before the trust vote, Karnataka Assembly speaker on Sunday disqualified 14 more rebel MLAs, taking the total disqualification to 17. Now, the strength of the assembly has been reduced to 208 members.  For Yediyurappa to pass the floor test in Karnataka assembly, he needed the support of more than half the legislators present in the House. The saffron party on Friday had issued a whip to all 105 legislators to participate in the floor test.


Meanwhile, all the disqualified MLAs on Saturday decided to move the Supreme Court against their disqualification. Out of the 14 MLAs disqualified on Sunday, 11 of them are from Congress. The disqualified legislators include -- Pratap Gowda Patil, BC Patil, Shivanand Hebbar, ST Somashekar, Shrimant Patil, BA Basavaraja, Anand Singh, R Roshan Baig, Muniratna, K Sudhakar and MTB Nagaraj. The three MLAs disqualified are JD(S) include -- AH Vishwanath, Narayan Gowda and Gopalaiah. Yeddyurappa Changes Spelling of Name to BS Yediyurappa Before Taking Oath as Karnataka Chief Minister.

The disqualified MLAs cannot contest elections till the end of the 15th Legislative Assembly. Earlier this month, the rebel MLAs had pulled out from the Congress-JD(S) coalition. Due to this, the coalition government was plunged into minority. Immediately after losing the trust vote, Kumaraswamy submitted his resignation to the Governor.