Chalakudy Lok Sabha Constituency in Kerala Results 2019: Congress Candidate Benny Behanan Elected MP
Chalakudy Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

The results of the Chalakudy Lok Sabha Constituency has been declared. Congress candidate and former MLA Benny Behanan won the constituency seat by a margin of 1,32,274 votes defeating sitting MP and actor Innocent. Behanan won the seat with 4,73,444 votes in Chalakudy. Voting took place for the Chalakudy Constituency on April 23. According to the Election Commission of India, a total voter turnout of 80.43 per cent was recorded. Other candidates who were in the fray included Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) A N Radhakrishnan and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Johnson N. Rahul Gandhi Wins Wayanad Lok Sabha Seat In Kerala By Huge Margin.

Chalakudy is a municipal town in Thrissur district of the Indian state of Kerala. Earlier known as Mukundapuram constituency, it was dissolved as part of the delimitations of constituencies order in 2008. Today, it is an assembly segment in the newly formed Chalakudy constituency and one among the 20 constituencies in the state. Chalakudy's constituency number is 11. Chalakudy Lok Sabha constituency comprises of seven assembly segments including Kaipamangalam, Chalakkudy, Kodungallur, Perumbavoor, Angamaly, Aluva and Kunnathunad (SC).

Congress' KP Dhanapalam won the first Lok Sabha election for the constituency in 2009. Innocent contested from the seat as an Independent candidate and won the election in 2014. Prior to its dissolution, Mukundapuram had been UDF stronghold since 1957 having won the seat more than 10 times. In 2014, Innocent had defeated Congress' stalwart PC Chacko by a margin of nearly 14,000 votes.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Chalakudy Constituency:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video):

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 was held between April 11 and May 19 in seven phases. In Kerala, voting was held in a single phase. During the third phase, the polling was held in 115 Lok Sabha constituencies of 14 states. The counting of votes was held on May 23 and thereafter the results were declared.

O.S.N. Candidate Party EVM Votes Postal Votes Total Votes % of Votes
1INNOCENTCommunist Party of India (Marxist)34058158934117034.45
2JOHNSON NBahujan Samaj Party2128321310.22
3BENNY BEHANANIndian National Congress47293550947344447.81
4A N RADHAKRISHNANBharatiya Janata Party15393422515415915.57
5JOSE THOMASMarxist Communist Party of India (United)87108710.09
6MUJEEB RAHMAN T APeoples Democratic Party1467014670.15
9JOHNSON K CIndependent35413550.04
10NOBY AUGUSTINEIndependent31803180.03
11FREDY JACKSON PEREIRAIndependent68116820.07
12M R SATHYADEVANIndependent1432014320.14
14NOTANone of the Above75681075780.77
Total 9888831341990224