Chandrapur Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra Results 2019: Congress Candidate Suresh Narayan Dhanorkar Elected as MP
Chandrapur Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Mumbai, March 23: Congress candidate Suresh Narayan Dhanorkar was elected as Member of Parliament from Chandrapur Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra. Chandrapur Lok Sabha seat is one of the 48 parliamentary seats in the state of Maharashtra. Polling in Chandrapur Lok Sabha constituency was held on April 11 in the first phase of general elections. Incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, who is Miniter of State (MoS) Home, was leading from the seat. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Hansraj Ahir will be challenged by Congress candidate Suresh Narayan Dhanorkar. In Maharashtra, the BJP has forged an alliance with the Shiv Sena, while the Congress tied up with the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). In Chandrapur, the process of filing nomination will begin from March 18. The last day for nominations was March 25. Scrutiny was on March 26 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was March 28. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: How Staggered Polling Could Help BJP.

Schedule for polling in first phase:

Issue of Notification March 18
Last date for filing nomination March 25
Scrutiny of nomination March 26
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 28
Date Of Poll April 11
Date of Result May 23

Watch Lok Sabha elections 2019 schedule for first phase:

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP, Shiv Sena and Swabhiman Paksha won 23, 18 and one seat respectively. They contested in an alliance. The Congress won only two seats and NCP just four. Even stalwarts like Milind Deora and Sanjay Nirupam failed to save their seats.