Darjeeling Lok Sabha Constituency Results 2019 in West Bengal: Raju Bista of BJP Wins Parliamentary Election
Darjeeling Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Darjeeling Lok Sabha Constituency was declared today. The counting of votes began on the Darjeeling Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Raju Bista of BJP defeated TMC's Amar Sigh Rai by a margin of 4,13,443 votes.

Voting took place for the Darjeeling seat in the second phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 75.27 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Darjeeling Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from Bharatiya Janata Party – SS Ahluwalia. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the All India Trinamool Congress candidate – Bhai Chung Bhutia. This time BJP has named Raju Singh Bisht for the seat. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, AITC has fielded Amar Singh Rai while Left Front has fielded Saman Pathak. In the meantime, Congress has fielded Shankar Malakar from Darjeeling seat. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,15,464 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,87,824 are females while 6,27,640 are males. The average literacy rate is 93 per cent, and the main occupation of people is agriculture, tea plantation, tourism and trade of essential commodities. The female to male ratio is 1005.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Second Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 18
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 29
Date Of Poll April 18
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Darjeeling Lok Sabha election begun on March 18, which continued till March 26. The scrutiny was done on March 27, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was March 29. The polling took place on April 18.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 2 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raigunj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.