Exit Poll Results by Times Now-VMR of Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018: Fractured Mandate With Congress Winning 97 Seats, BJP 94
Elections in 222 of the 224 constituencies of Karnataka was conducted today between 8 am to 6 pm. Watch here what ABP News-CSDS-Lokniti predicts | (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, May 12: News channel Times Now, in tie-up with research agency VMR, conducted an exit poll to predict the outcome of Karnataka assembly elections 2018. The post-poll survey results were expected to be declared shortly after the voting concludes. Stay tuned here for live news and updates related to Times Now-VMR exit poll.

Earlier in the day, voting was held in 222 of the 224 constituencies. Polls in two seats - Jayanagar and RR Nagar - were deferred to May 28. While Jayanagar witnessed the demise of incumbent MLA and BJP candidate BN Vijayakumar on May 4, over 9,000 fake voter ID cards were seized in RR Nagar in an EC raid on Tuesday.

Here is what the Times Now-VMR exit polls predict for Karnataka assembly elections 2018:

Party Seats Predicted
Congress 97
BJP  94
JD(S)  28
Others  3

The official results of Karnataka assembly polls will be declared by the Election Commission on Tuesday. The exit poll outcome, pollsters claim, predict a grim picture of what the results would appear following the counting of votes.

What Times Now-VMR had predicted in their opinion poll ahead of the Karnataka elections?

Party Seats Predicted (2018) Seats Won (2013) Segments’ Swing
Congress 90 122 -32
BJP 89 40 +49
JD(S) 40 40 0
Others 4 22 -18

Times Now-VMR's opinion poll prediction was in line with most others, as it ruled out the possibility of a full majority government being elected by the state. The survey said Congress is likely to emerge as the single-largest party with 90 seats, closely followed by the BJP with 89. The JD(S) was predicted to wrest 40 constituencies.