Goa Cabinet Reshuffle: 3 Former Congress MLAs, Ex-Assembly Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo Take Oath As Ministers
GOA Cabinet Reshuffle (Photo Credits: ANI)

Panaji, July 13: Filipe Nery Rodrigues, Chandrakant Kavleka, and Jennifer Monserratte who recently joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Goa after quitting Indian National Congress were sworn in as ministers along with Former Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo on Saturday, July 13. Goa Political Turmoil: 10 Rebel MLAs of Congress Join BJP.

The quartet were sworn in after Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant dropped four ministers from his cabinet. Vinoda Paliencar, Vijai Sardesai, independent MLA Rohan Khaunte and Jayesh Salgaocar of BJP's ally Goa Forward Party were dropped. Mridula Sinha, Governor of Goa, administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly inducted ministers. 10 Congress MLAs Join BJP, Late CM Manohar Parrikar’s Son Says No Trust and Commitment Left in BJP After His Father’s Demise.

Tweet by ANI:

Earlier today, Lobo resigned as a deputy speaker. CM Sawant who returned to the state after discussion with BJP's central leadership in New Delhi said there were several reasons for dropping them. "Considering all the reasons, the central leadership has taken a decision that four members of the BJP should now be made ministers,” Sawant told media at the airport after returning from Goa.

This development comes after ten Congress Member of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) merged with the BJP, taking it's number to 27 in the 40 member assembly. With this, the Congress has only five lawmakers in the state.