HD Kumaraswamy's Karnataka Govt to Fall? 11 MLAs of Congress-JD(S) Camp Submit Resignation to Speaker
Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy (Photo Credits: IANS)

Bengaluru, July 6: Suffering a setback in the Lok Sabha elections wasn't enough for ruling Janata Dal (Secular) government in Karnataka, another shocking news arrived for Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy as 8 Congress and 3 JDS MLAs reached Assembly speaker office to submit their resignation on Saturday.

Earlier, miffed with the alleged poll debacle and treatment with CM Kumaraswamy, around 8 Congress and 3 JDS MLAs reached state Assembly to submit the resignation. However, the Karnataka State minister DK Shivakumar stated, "Nobody will resign, I had come to meet them." Karnataka: JDS-Congress Government Faces Crisis as Two MLAs Resign, BJP in Wait And Watch Mode

On the contrary, asked about the decision on quitting the membership from Karnataka Assembly, Congress MLA Ramalinga Reddy said, "I am not going to blame anyone in the party or the high command. I somewhere feel I was being neglected over some issues. That is why I have taken this decision."

With situation going out of control and post of CM shaking, Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara and State minister DK Shivakumar have called an emergency meeting of Congress Bengaluru MLAs and Corporators later today.

It is to be known that Congress MLAs Ramesh Jarkiholi, BC Patil, Mahesh Kumatalli, Prathapgouda Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, Subba Reddy and H Vishwanath, Narayana Gowda and K Gopalaiah from JD(S) had submitted their resignations to Kumar's secretary as the speaker was not in the office at that time. Also, MLA Anand Singh has already submitted his resignation to the speaker.

Meanwhile, another batch consisting Congress leaders - Ramalinga Reddy, Sowmya Reddy, N Muniratna, ST Somashekar and Byrathi Basavaraj - arrived at the speaker's office and are about to submit their resignations. Currently, state CM HD Kumaraswamy is in the USA and might reach Bengaluru on Monday.

In Karnataka, BJP has 104 MLAs, but a coalition of Congress (80) and JDS (37) have formed the government in 224-member state Assembly. For the majority, a party or coalition needs 113 seats.