Bengaluru, July 17: The Supreme Court on Wednesday said Karnataka MLAs are not compelled to participate in the trust vote on Thursday. During the hearing on Karnataka rebel MLAs case, the apex court in its order said that the  Karnataka Speaker cannot be forced to take a decision within a time frame. Meanwhile, former Karnataka Chief Minister and BJP leader, BS Yeddyurappa said, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy must resign as he has lost his mandate. He said the Kumaraswamy-led government in the state will not last because they do not have the numbers. Karnataka Political Crisis: BS Yeddyurappa Says 'Won't Destabilise Congress-JDS Coalition Government'.

"Karnataka CM has lost his mandate, when there is no majority he must resign tomorrow. I welcome SC's decision, it's the victory of constitution and democracy, a moral victory for rebel MLAs. It's only an interim order, SC will decide powers of Speaker in future", Yeddyurappa added. According to a tweet by ANI, Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar said, "I will take a decision that in no way will go contrary to the Constitution, the Court and the Lokpal". Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy was to seek a vote of confidence of the state Assembly on July 18, against the backdrop of 16 MLAs of the ruling Congress and JD(S) tendering their resignation.

The Speaker had asked the Chief Minister to hold the floor test in the Assembly on Thursday, July 18 to prove he has majority in the Assembly to save his government. The majority has been reduced to minority after the rebels retired and two Independents withdrew support to it. The floor test will be held at 11 AM. Karnataka Political Crisis: Congress, JDS Get More Time as SC Orders Status Quo on Rebel MLAs' Resignations Till July 16

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the southern state has been demanding the floor test in the wake of resignation by 16 MLAs of the ruling alliance- 13 of the Congress and 3 of the JD(S) and withdrawal of support to the Kumaraswamy government by two other legislators.

In the 225-member House in Karnataka, the Congress-JD(S), along with lone legislators each of BSP and a regional party and an Independent, have 118 MLAs, including the Speaker. If all the 18 legislators, including 16 rebels and 2 Independents do not attend the session, the effective strength of the House for voting will be 205, including 105 of the BJP and excluding the Speaker and the nominated member.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jul 17, 2019 11:01 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website