BJP Wins Bhatkal, Karwar, Kumta & Sirsi; Congress Bags Haliyal & Yellapur: Check Other Winning Candidates From Uttara Kannada District | Karnataka Election Results 2018
Karnataka Assembly Polls | Uttara Kannada District Election Results 2018 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Mumbai, May 15: The Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018, which were declared earlier today, has surprised many. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which has emerged as the single largest party is falling short of numbers to form the government. Second and third-placed Indian National Congress & Janata Dal-Secular are in talks to form the government together. Talking about the Uttara Kannada district, the BJP was able to win in 4 constituencies - Bhatkal, KarwarKumta, and Sirsi. The Congress, on the other hand, won in  Haliyal and Yellapur constituencies.

In the Karnataka Assembly Polls 2013, the Independent candidates had won in Bhatkal and Karwar constituencies. On the other hand, the Congress candidates won in Haliyal, Kumta, and Yellapur constituencies, whereas the BJP won in Sirsi constituency only.

Bhatkal Constituency Result 2018:

Haliyal Constituency Result 2018:

Karwar Constituency Result 2018:

Kumta Constituency Result 2018:

Sirsi Constituency Result 2018:

Yellapur Constituency Results 2018:

The Judgement day saw the results for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 behave like a see-saw. No party could achieve simple majority; however, BJP emerged as the single largest party in the state. However, there were strong indications that Congress & JD-S have formed an alliance and will be claiming a stake to form the government.

The voting in 222 constituencies had taken place in a single phase manner on May 12. The Karnataka Assembly comprises of 224 seats. To form the government, a party needs to cross the half-way mark of 112 seats.

As the results of the majority of the seats are out, it will be interesting to watch if the tide turns its direction. You can watch all the live action and updates about Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 by clicking here. Stay tuned with LatestLY to be in touch with all the latest news about the Karnataka Assembly Polls 2018.