Medinipur Lok Sabha Constituency Results 2019 in West Bengal: Dilip Ghosh of BJP Wins Parliamentary Election
Medinipur Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Medinipur Lok Sabha Constituency was declared today. The counting of votes began on the Medinipur Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Dilip Ghosh of BJP defeated TMC's Manas Ranjan Bhunia by a margin of 88,952 votes.

Voting took place for the Medinipur seat in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 80.16 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Medinipur Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Sandhya Roy. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the CPI candidate – Prabodh Panda. AITC has fielded Dr Manas Bhuina this time from the constituency. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI has fielded Biplab Bhatt, while Congress has announced Sambhunath Chatterjee as their candidate. BJP has fielded its state president Dilip Ghosh as their candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,62,983 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 6,15,364 are females while 6,47,619 are males. The average literacy rate of the constituency is 90 per cent, and the principal occupation is agriculture. The female to male ratio is 960.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Sixth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 16
Last date for filing nomination April  23
Scrutiny of nomination April  24
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 26
Date Of Poll May  12
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Medinipur Lok Sabha elections began on April 16, which continued till April 23. The scrutiny was done on April 24, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 26. The polling took place on May 12.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 6 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.