Mumbai Mayor Polls 2019: Shiv Sena Leaders Kishori Pednekar and Suhas Wadkar Elected As Mayor and Deputy Mayor of BMC Unopposed
Kishori Pednekar and Suhas Wadkar (Photo Credits: ANI)

Mumbai, November 22: Shiv Sena won both the seats- the Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts in the recently concluded mayor elections in Mumbai. Shiv Sena's Kishori Pednekar and Suhas Wadkar have been elected unopposed as Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), respectively. It was certain for Shiv Sena to win as there were no candidates from BJP, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). The polling for mayoral post in 27 municipal corporations across Maharashtra was held on November 22.

The Shiv Sena, which has the largest number of corporators in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), was set retain the coveted mayoral post in the Mumbai civic body. BJP did not contest the Mayor elections in the civic body as they did not have enough numbers in the BMC.

Here's the tweet:

According to a tweet by ANI, BJP's mayor candidate Ashish Shelar had said that the party doesn't want an alliance with any opposition party for the election for Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts. Congress leader Ravi Raja said, "NCP and Congress do not have the numbers. A meeting of senior NCP and Congress leaders was held on Sunday where we were told to not file nomination for the Mayor elections.

On November 18, while speaking to media, Kishori Pednekar, the new mayor of the BMC had said that once she comes to power, she will focus on three things - making Mumbai pothole-free, garbage-free and focus on plastic ban. The BMC has a total of 227 seats. Tthe Shiv Sena has 94 corporators while the BJP, Congress and NCP have 83, 29 and eight, respectively.

In the last Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation polls, which were held in 2017, the Shiv Sena had won 84 corporator seats while the its then ally BJP was a close second with 82 seats in the 227-member civic house.