Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: 'Mahagathbandhan' Inks Pre-Poll Pact - Congress to Contest on 93 Seats, TDP 14, TJS 8 & CPI 3
File image of Chandrababu Naidu meeting Rahul Gandhi | (Photo Credits: Twitter/@INCIndia)

Hyderabad, November 8: The 'mahagathbandhan' in Telangana has inked the pre-poll pact ahead of the upcoming assembly elections, scheduled on December 7, 2018. As per the seat-sharing arrangement, the Congress would be contesting on 93 constituencies, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 14, Telangana Jan Samithi in 8 and the Communist Party of India (CPI) in 3.

The 119-member Telangana assembly witnesses a three-cornered contested between the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the Congress-TDP-TJS-Left alliance and an aggressive Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Full Schedule of Telangana Assembly Polls 2018.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), which will be contesting on 7 seats of Hyderabad district, has extended support to TRS. The pro-Muslim party chief Asaduddin Owaisi has appealed the minority community to vote in favour of the K Chandrasekhar Rao-led party on seats where the AIMIM is not in the fray.

This would be the first elections to be conducted in the bifurcated state of Telangana. In 2014, the assembly polls were held collectively in the then unified state of Andhra Pradesh, with the TRS emerging victorious in most Telangana seats.

As per the current standings, the TRS represents 90 seats in the 119-member assembly, whereas, the Congress has 13 MLAs in the House. The AIMIM is the third largest party with 7 legislators, followed by the BJP - 5, TDP - 3 and CPI(M1 -1.

The assembly polls were originally slated for April 2019, along with the Lok Sabha elections. Chief Minister KC Rao, however, preponed the elections by dissolving the assembly in September.