Uttarakhand Urban Local Body Election Results 2018: BJP Wins 300 Seats, Congress Trails
File image of BJP workers at a rally | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Dehradun, November 21: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has emerged as the best-performer in terms of the number of mayoral seats won, winning 5 of the 7 coveted posts. The Congress trails second with 2 Mayors being elected from the party.

In Uttarakhand, a total of 1,064 wards were contested on Saturday, spread across 84 urban local bodies (ULBs). While the BJP formed a majority in whereas 34 civic bodies, the Congress has bagged 24 ULBs. Meanwhile, the independent candidates have outshun both the BJP and Congress in 23 municipal bodies. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has wrested 1 ULB. Uttarakhand Nikay Chunav 2018: BJP Wins Five of Seven Mayor Seats.

Uttarakhand Nikay Chunav 2018: Ward Wise Results

Out of the 1,063 wards, the Independents form the largest chunk -- winning 546 seats. The BJP has won 300 and Congress 164 wards. The BSP, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Samajwadi Party have won 4, 2 and 1 ward, respectively.

The civic polls, in which over 23 lakh of state's electorate was registered to vote, were considered as a litmus test for the ruling BJP. The results were expected to be referendum on the Trivendra Singh Rawat-led government, which was formed in March 2017 after the BJP won the hill-state by winning 57 of the 70 assembly seats.