Ahead of India vs West Indies 1st T20I, Here's A List of Highest Run-Scoring Batsmen and Wicket-Taking Bowlers For India in Twenty20 Cricket
File picture of Rohit Sharma and Ravi Ashwin. (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

India hosts World T20 champions West Indies for three-match T20I series. The series kicks-off with the first T20I at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. During the series, teams will be looking to prepare for T20 World Cup, which is less than a year away now. Meanwhile, India is ranked fifth on the ICC T20I team rankings while Windies, reigning T20 champions, are at tenth place. With India vs Windies T20I series around the corner, we will look at the leading run-scorers and leading wicket-takers for Men in Blue in T20I cricket so far. India vs West Indies, 1st T20I 2019, Key Players: Rohit Sharma, Jason Holder, Deepak Chahar and Other Cricketers to Watch Out for in Hyderabad.

For some time, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have been playing a cat and mouse game for the most runs in T20Is for India. Currently, Indian opener leads the list with 2539 runs while Kohli is not far behind. Kohli was rested against Bangladesh for the three T20Is and Rohit made good use of it to deepen the gap. Meanwhile, Indian skipper will be hoping to overtake his teammate now.

Interestingly at number three and four are MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina, both the batsmen are currently not part of the Indian team. Opener Shikhar Dhawan is at fifth position and he needs 101 more runs to topple Raina. India vs West Indies T20I 2019: 5 Records & Stats You Need to Know Ahead of IND vs WI Twenty20 Series.

Leading Run-Scorer in T20Is for India

Sr. No Player Runs Innings
1 Rohit Sharma 2539 93
2 Virat Kohli 2443 67
3 MS Dhoni 1617 85
4 Suresh Raina 1605 66
5 Shikhar Dhawan 1504 57

In the bowling department, Ravi Ashwin tops the list of most wickets for India in T20Is, even though he has not played a T20I for over two years. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah is second on the list but he is not part of the T20I squad that will face Windies. Interestingly, spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has a good chance of overtaking both Ashwin and Bumrah and needs just three wickets to become the bowler with most wickets in T20Is for India.

Leading Wicket-Takers in T20Is for India

Sr. No Player Innings Wickets
1 Ravichandran Ashwin 46 52
2 Jasprit Bumrah 42 51
3 Yuzvendra Chahal 34 50
4 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 40 39
5 Hardik Pandya 39 38

After the series opener on December 06, India and Windies will face-off in the second and third T20Is at Thiruvananthapuram and Mumbai. Following the T20I series, the two sides will take on each other in the three-match ODI series.