Bangladesh 15-Man Squad For 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Announced, Mashrafe Mortaza to Lead, Mosaddek Hossain Makes a Comeback
Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza. (Photo Credits: IANS)

Dhaka, April 16: Bangladesh on Tuesday announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming World Cup slated to be held in England and Wales. Mashrafe Mortaza will be leading the side in the showpiece event while Shakib Al Hasan will serve as his deputy. Middle-order batsman Mosaddek Hossain, who last played for Bangladesh in the Asia Cup last year, has made a comeback for the world cup. The Bangladesh selectors have also named pacer Abu Jayed in the squad. Jayed, who is yet to make his debut in ODIs, had impressed with his swing bowling during the Tests in New Zealand last month. ICC World Cup 2019: Bangladesh to Call All-Rounder Shakib Al Hasan Back From IPL 2019 for Preparation Camp.

Bangladesh will begin their World Cup campaign against South Africa at the Kennington Oval on June 2. Before that, they will play two practice matches against Pakistan and India on May 26 and 28, respectively. Apart from Bangladesh, New Zealand, Australia and India have also announced their squads for the prestigious quadrennial event starting from May 30. Bangladesh Team for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Ahead of Squad Announcement Injuries to Mustafizur Rahman, Mahmudullah and Rubel Hossain Worry Selectors.

Bangladesh squad for World Cup: Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed