BCCI Announces Annual Player Retainership 2019-20, Check Full List of Players Awarded Contract
BCCI. (Photo Credits: IANS)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the annual player contracts for India’s senior men’s team on January 16, 2020 (Thursday). The list released by BCCI includes the contract of the players for the time period of October 2019 to September 2020. Navdeep Saini, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar and Deepak Chahar have been given the twelve-monthly player contracts. The most shocking thing about this listicle released by the Indian cricket board is the exclusion of former World Cup winning captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Virat Kohli Drives His Brand New Car Audi Q8 Ahead of India vs Australia 2nd ODI 2020, View Pictures.

The payment structure of the annual player contract announced by BCCI for India’s men’s team is divided into four categories (Grade A+, Grade A, Grade B, Grade C). The players included in Grade A+ are Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah while the cricketers in Grade A include the likes of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane. Players present in Grade A+ will annually earn INR 7 Cr and the ones in the Grade A will receive INR 5 Cr. MS Dhoni has not been awarded an annual contract by the Indian board and this once again raises the question about his retirement. The 38-year-old last appeared for India during the 2019 World Cup and has been on a sabbatical since. Has MS Dhoni Already Retired? Sunil Gavaskar Points Out at Wicket-Keeper-Batsman’s Long Absence As Indications of Retirement From Cricket.

Payment Structure (Senior Men)

Period Grade A+ Grade A Grade B Grade C
Oct 2019 to Sep 2020 INR 7 Cr INR 5 Cr INR 3 Cr INR 1 Cr

Distribution Of Annual Player Contract

Grade A+

Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma
Jasprit Bumrah

Grade A

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravindra Jadeja
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Cheteshwar Pujara
Ajinkya Rahane
KL Rahul
Shikhar Dhawan
Mohd Shami
Ishant Sharma
Kuldeep Yadav
Rishabh Pant

Grade B

Wriddhiman Saha
Umesh Yadav
Yuzvendra Chahal
Hardik Pandya
Mayank Agarwal

Grade C

Kedar Jadhav
Navdeep Saini
Deepak Chahar
Manish Pandey
Hanuma Vihari
Shardul Thakur
Shreyas Iyer
Washington Sundar

The players who made the Grade B list will earn INR 3 Cr and includes the likes of Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya and Mayank Agarwal. Meanwhile, the players present in Grade C are Kedar Jadhav, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer who will receive INR 1 Cr for the mentioned period.