ICC Releases Future Tour Schedule for 2018-2023, World Test Championship & 13-Team Men's ODI League Announced
Indian Cricket Team Captain Virat Kohli with the ICC Mace | Representational Image | (Photo Credits: ICC)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today released the men's Future Tours Programme (FTP) from 2018-2023 for International Cricket teams on Wednesday. The ICC states that the FTP "provides clarity and certainty" concerning the bilateral international fixtures incorporating "all three formats of the game."

The ICC has stated that the focus of the FTP has been on "bringing more context to bilateral cricket." The cricket administrative body also mentions on its website that a World Test Championship has been created. In addition, a 13-team men's ODI league has also been incorporated which will act as a qualification pathway for the ICC Cricket World Cup.

9 top-ranked sides will participate in inaugural edition of World Test Championship from 15 Jul 2019-30 Apr '21. The sides will play 6 series in 2-year cycle on a home and away basis against opponents they have mutually selected. 2 top-ranked sides will then progress to June 2021 final.

The Indian cricket team will make its debut in ICC World Test Championship in July 2019, against West Indies in the Caribbean, and then mark its campaign in the 13-team ODI League versus Sri Lanka (away) in June 2020.

The ICC also mentions that India, which will also be hosting the 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, and the seven highest- ranked sides in the ODI league as on 31 March 2022 will qualify directly for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. The bottom five sides will be given a second chance to qualify through the World Cup qualifier.