ICC Renames World T20 Championships as T20 World Cup 2020
ICC Logo for representation purpose only (File Image)

The International Cricket Council on Friday announced a new name for the World T20 Championships. The ICC renamed the World T20 Championship as ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 and ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 which will be held in Australia. This would come in effect from the upcoming edition of the World Cup. The decision was taken with an aim to increase the popularity of the tournament amongst the people.

The decision of renaming the tournament was backed the international captains as well which included names like Faf Du Plessis, Australian captain Aaron Finch, Indian cricket team’s women skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and Virat Kohli. "Next editions of the (T20) events in 2020 in Australia will be known as the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 and the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2020," the ICC said in a statement. "The renaming of the event is also aimed at cementing the importance this event holds in the international cricket calendar and ensuring parity across all three formats of the game," it added in its statement further.

Indian men’s cricket team skipper Virat Kohli said that his team would be looking forward to lifting the trophy once again and the feat that they achieved in 2007. Whereas the Indian women’s cricket team skipper Harmanpreet Kaur was quite hopeful about the increasing popularity of the tournament.  Harmanpreet Kaur Has No ‘Regrets’ for Dropping Mithali Raj From the Semifinals Even As the Decision Backfired India Against England.

Australia men’s captain Aaron Finch, “It’s exciting for Australia to be hosting both the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2020.  The international cricket council has approved all T20s between its members and 104 members have already qualified for the mega event.