ICC Responds to Overthrow Controversy During NZ vs ENG, CWC 2019 Final, Backs On-Field Umpires
England Team (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Ever since England won the CWC 2019 at the Lord’s Cricket Stadium in London a couple of days ago, there have been many questions raised on the standards of umpiring. Team England defeated New Zealand by a Super Over on a boundary count. After the game, Simon Taufel slammed the on-field umpires Kumar Dharamsena and Marais Erasmus and said that awarding the hosts with six runs was an umpiring blunder. He said that it was an error of judgement of the on-field umpires while speaking to Fox Sports. Now, ICC has responded to the whole controversy and has backed the on-field umpires. Simon Taufel Says Umpires Made 'Error of Judgement' in Giving 6 Overthrows During CWC 2019 ENG vs NZ Match, ICC Declines Comment. 

The official body also said that the umpires take the decisions on-field with the interpretation of the rules and which is why the ICC does not want to comment on the matter further. “The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy,” the ICC spokesperson was quoted as saying by Forxsports.com.au.

Simon Taufel pointed out at the Law 19.8, pertaining to 'Overthrow or wilful act of fielder', states: "If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act." Many umpiring errors have come under the scanner and have been a matter of debate not only amongst the netizens but also the cricketers.