India vs Australia, 5th ODI 2019: Men in Blue's Record in Series Deciders at Home Should Scare Aussies!
Ind vs Aus 5th ODI 2019 (Photo Credits: Getty)

The ongoing series between India and Australia had close encounters with the series being evenly poised at 2-2. After facing defeat in the first two matches, Aussies bounced back with fantastic victories in Ranchi and Mohali to level the series. Both the Indian and Australian cricket team will look forward to clinching the series before they head for ICC World Cup 2019, beginning from May 30. However, Indian cricket team stats speak that their series decider record at home is intimidating, which can become a cause of concern for the Kangaroos. Live Cricket Streaming of India vs Australia, 5th ODI 2019 on Hotstar: Check Live Cricket Score, Watch Free Telecast IND vs AUS 5th ODI on Star Sports & Online.

The series decider will be played at Ferozshah Kotla stadium in Delhi, which is Virat Kohli's home ground. This itself is a plus point for India in addition to their previous record at home in final matches.  However, the Australian batsmen are certainly looking in good touch. We saw Peter Handscomb scoring a century in the last match, who was well supported by his partner Usman Khwaja. Australia chased down their career-best total of 359 where its new find Ashton Turner turned the tide in favour of visiting side. The youngster played a massive knock of 84 in 43 balls which included 5 boundaries and 6 maximums. On that note, let us look at India's record in the final deciding match at home in of the last five series. India vs Australia, 5th ODI 2019: Check Out the Weather Forecast & Pitch Report of Ferozshah Kotla Stadium as Men in Blue Look to Win the Series.

Preview of Ind vs Aus 5th ODI 2019


Sri Lanka Tour of  India 2017-18-India Won

India faced a defeat in the first ODI of this three-match series, however, Indian team bounce back to win the last two ODIs. In the final ODI, the home team managed to easily chase down a total of 215 with 107 balls to spare.

New Zealand tour of India 2017-18-India Won

India won the final decider of three-match ODI series, where they put up a total of 338 and Kiwis only managed to make 331/7 in 50 overs.

New Zealand tour of  India 2016-17-India Won

In this 5-match ODI series, Kiwis won the 2nd and 4th ODI, however, Men in blue managed a huge victory over New Zealand in the final ODI where, Amit Mishra epic bowling performance restricted Black Caps inning to just 79 when they were chasing 270 runs. Mishra took 5 wicket haul in this series decider match.

South Africa tour of India 2015-16-India Lost

In this 5 match ODI series, we saw Proteas winning the first and third ODI.  The second and fourth was won by Indian which balanced the series. In the final ODI, three South African batsmen scored a century, which helped them post a total of 438/4 in 50 overs. In reply, the Indian team succumbed to 224, which made the visitor victorious by 214 runs.

West Indies tour of India 2013-14-India Won

In this three-match ODI bilateral series, India won the first match by 6 wickets, Windies managed victor in second ODI by 2 wickets. In the final ODI, India emerged victorious by chasing down the total of 264 with 5 wickets in hand, thanks to Shikhar Dhawan's ton.

Australia tour of India 2013-14-India Won

The series was tied at 2-2 after 5 matches, where the fourth ODI was washed out without a ball being bowled. India won the final decider due to Rohit Sharma double century which helped them post a total of 383/6. In reply Australian inning crumbled at 326 in 45.1 overs.

Even though the Kohli and party have a good track record at home in the series decider, but still they will have to pull up their sock when they next face a spirited Australian team. The bowlers need to pitch the bowl at proper areas and work on their mistakes from previous ODI. Also, the fielding and keeping in the last match was sloppy, where Rishabh Pant was trolled for his missed stumping chance. We even saw Kedhar Jadhav and Shikhar Dhawan putting down Ashton Turner catch in the same over bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. With all said and done, we look forward to a great contest between two of the big favourites at ICC World Cup in this mouth-watering final.