India vs South Africa 2019: KL Rahul Dropped, Shubman Gill Gets Maiden Test Call-Up as BCCI Announces India Squad for Test Series
India Team and South Africa Team (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

BCCI on Thursday announced the Team India squad for the upcoming Test series against South Africa. South Africa team is going to tour India for a T20I and Test series. Virat Kohli will be again leading the Indian team in India vs South Africa 2019 Test series, while Ajinkya Rahane will be his deputy as vice-captain. The players selected in the Test squad for South Africa tour of India 2019 are- India’s squad for 3 Tests: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill. India vs South Africa 2019: Rohit Sharma Can Succeed as Test Opener in India, Says Australian Legend Adam Gilchrist. 

KL Rahul, who played as an opener in Test matches against West Indies, was shockingly dropped from the Test squad against South Africa. Shubman Gill will start his Test campaign with the series. Rohit Sharma, the ODI vice-captain of Indian Team, is also part of the Test squad. Chief selector MSK Prasad also said that he would like to play Sharma as an opener in Tests. BCCI announced the India squad for South Africa Test series on their official Twitter handle.

All Set for South Africa!

There will be a total of three Tests played during the South Africa tour of India 2019. The Test series will start with the first Test on October 2 at VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. Before the Test series, a T20I series will be played. The three-match T20I series starts with the first T20I game at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala on Sunday, September 15. India vs South Africa 2019: Ahead of The Series, Here’s a Recap of How Both the Teams Fared in Their Last Bilateral Series.

India vs South Africa T20I 2019: South African Cricket Team Trains In Dharamshala Ahead Of 1st T20I

Earlier, the T20I squad was announced by BCCI. While MS Dhoni remained out of the T20I series against South Africa, Hardik Pandya was called back in the squad. Pandya was given complete rest during India vs West Indies 2019 series. India managed a very successful campaign against West Indies. Under the captainship of Virat Kohli, the Indian team defeated West Indies in the ODI, T20I and Test series. India outclassed the Caribbean side 3-0 in three-match T20I series, 2-0 in two-match ODI series and  2-0 in two-match Test series.