IPL 2019 Schedule and Venue Officially Confirmed: Indian Premier League Season 12 to Take Place in India Entirely, Starting March 23
File Image | Indian Premier League | IPL 2019 | (Photo Credits: Twitter @IPL)

The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to take place in India, confirmed BCCI on Tuesday. After a lot of speculations that were doing the rounds that the T20 tournament would be moved out of India due to the General Elections in the same period, it has been confirmed that the IPL 2019 will be played in India, starting March 23.

Also, the 2019 IPL edition will be played in India entirely. Speculations were rife that a part of the tournament would take place outside India to accommodate the Lok Sabha Elections 2019’ however, a recent report has confirmed that the IPL’s 12th season will be taking place in India. Indian Team Players for IPL 2019 & ICC World Cup: MS Dhoni Opposes, Anil Kumble Supports Virat Kohli's Suggestion to Rest Key Bowlers.

The dates and the venues of the IPL tournament were a subject of constant speculations in recent times. However, the BCCI release has said that the date and place of the matches had been decided upon by the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) after brief discussions with federal and state officials. IPL 2019 Trade Window: Delhi Capitals Trades Jayant Yadav to Mumbai Indians Two Days After Auctions.

The BCCI’s press release stated that the decision to organise the IPL Season 12 in India was ‘based on the preliminary discussions with the appropriate central and state agencies/ authorities’. A detailed schedule of the cash-rich cricket league ‘will be finalised in consultation with the appropriate authorities’, after which the CoA will have a ‘detailed discussion’ with all the stakeholders involved.