Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup 2018 Announced, No Place for Mohammad Hafeez and Imad Wasim
Haris Sohail celebrates with Hassan Ali and Sarfraz Ahmed (Photo: Getty Images)

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018. Wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed will continue to lead the side. The selectors have ignored allrounders Mohammad Hafeez and Imad Wasim from the squad. Reportedly, Imad has failed the fitness Test. Pakistan are placed in Group A alongside India and open their Asia Cup 2018 campaign against the qualifying team on September 16.

Meanwhile, Pakistan’s squad boasts of five frontline fast-bowlers with Mohammad Amir leading the department. Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz are the two spinners in the side while Shoaib Malik and Haris Sohail can be used as part-time bowlers.  Asia Cup Cricket 2018 Schedule in PDF Download: Time Table and Venue of Asia Cup Cricket Including India vs Pakistan Fixture.

Apart from Fakhar Zaman and Imam ul Haq, Pakistan have named Sham Masood as the third opener. The Green Shirts have retained middle-order batsman Asif Ali, who made his debut against Zimbabwe in July this year.

Pakistan will face India on September 19 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. The Asia Cup begins from September 15 with Bangladesh taking on Sri Lanka. The Group B features Afghanistan apart from Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The final of the Asia Cup 2018 will be played on September 28. After the group stage, four teams will play each other in the Super Four round. Top two teams will then advance to the final. India Team for Asia Cup 2018 Announced: Virat Kohli Rested, Rohit Sharma To Captain Indian Squad

Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup 2018: Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain), Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Imam ul Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari and Shaheen Afridi.