Virat Kohli Named Captain of the Australian ODI Team of the Year 2018
File picture of Virat Kohli in action against Australia. (Photo: Getty Images)

The Indian cricket captain finished the year 2018 with an emphatic win over the Australians in the third test match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. With this Kohli became the first captain to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on the Australian soil. He also remained at the top of the ICC Test rankings. Now, the Indian captain has added one more feather to his hat. The Indian captain who has been blazing guns in all the three formats has been named as the captain of the Australian ODI team of the year. ICC Test-Player Rankings 2018: Virat Kohli, Kagiso Rabada End 2018 on Top Spots.

From the 14 ODIs played this year by the Indian skipper, Kohli has scored more than 1,200 runs with a striking average of 133.55. He made six centuries and three half-centuries. Virat Kohli’s highest score remained 160 runs. Rohit Sharma, who made 1030 runs from 19 matches with an average of 73.57 also was named as the opener of the team alongside England’s Jonny Bairstow. The Hitman scored 162 runs in 2018.  Kuldeep Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah also sealed a berth in the squad.Virat Kohli Had a Perfect Reply to Crowds Chanting, ‘You’re a W****r' During India vs Australia 2018, 3rd Test.

Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav has picked 45 wickets this year with an economy of 3.62. He also got a five-wicket haul registering the best figures of four for 35. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah also registered his name in the list as he bagged 22 wickets from 13 matches. Joe Root, Shimron Hetmyer, Jos Buttler, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan and Mustafizur Rahman were the other players included in Cricket Australia's ODI team of 2018.