Football has a massive reach with over 175 nations following and playing in competitive tournaments for the ultimate glory. Out of the six different regions affiliated by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA), one of the most prominent and dominant regions is the European region with 55 (the highest number of members) conducting and participating in the international tournaments. The continental glory provides the winners pride in being one of the best football-playing nations in the world. UEFA Euro 2024: Netherlands Manager Ronald Koeman Slams FC Barcelona for Frenkie De Jong Injury, Says ‘We’ve To Deal With Consequences’.

The top competition held in the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) is Euro. There have been 11 different winners of the competitions’ 16 tournaments - highlighting the competitive nature and uncertainty of the Euros. Check out UEFA Euro Cup Winners from the past before the start of the Euro 2024 edition.

With teams like Spain, Germany and France dominating the competitions we have had many surprising winners like Czechoslovakia, Denmark and Greece making their mark in the competition. Following is the list of UEFA Euro Cup Winners since 1960. Germany Midfielder Aleksandar Pavlovic out of Training Camp With Illness Ahead of UEFA Euro 2024 Opener Against Scotland.

UEFA Euro Cup Winners List

Euro Host Country Winner Runners-up
2020 England Italy England
2016 France Portugal France
2012 Ukraine / Poland Spain Italy
2008 Austria / Switzerland Spain Germany
2004 Portugal Greece Portugal
2000 Netherlands France Italy
1996 England Germany Czech Republic
1992 Sweden Denmark Germany
1988 Germany Netherlands Soviet Union
1984 France France Spain
1980 Italy Germany Belgium
1976 Yugoslavia Czechoslovakia Germany
1972 Belgium Germany Soviet Union
1968 Italy Italy Yugoslavia
1964 Spain Spain Soviet Union
1960 France Soviet Union Yugoslavia


Germany has been one of the most successful countries in the Euros so far with three titles (1972,1980, 1996) in six finals appearances. They are the host and one of the favourites for the Euro 2024 tournament. While teams like Portugal (2016), Russia (1960), Greece (2004) and Czechoslovakia (1976) won the tournament for one time.

Spain also had major success in the tournament with three titles (1964, 2008,2012) in just four finals played. They set the record of being the only team successfully defending the title in Euros so far. Italy also reached four Finals in the Euros but won the title two times. The Blues will enter the UEFA Euro 2024 tournament as the defending champions.  Cristiano Ronaldo Scores Twice As Portugal Beats Ireland 3–0 in Last UEFA Euro 2024 Warmup.

With players like Cristiano Ronaldo, Jude Bellingham, Kevin de Brune, Kylian Mbappe and Toni Kroos playing in the tournament, fans can expect a high-octane and competitive tournament once again. The UEFA Euro 2024 will start on the 15th of June and the final match will be played on the 15th of July at Berlin. We can have a new winner from the 17th edition of the tournament or the big teams might again keep their firm grip on the title.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jun 13, 2024 12:59 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website