National Sports Awards 2019: President Ram Nath Kovind Confers Arjuna Award and Khel Ratna Award to Indian Sportsmen, Check Photos and Videos
(Photo Credits: PTI)

On the occasion of National Sports Day 2019, President Ram Nath Kovind honoured many Indian sportsmen with National Sports Awards 2019. President presented Khel Ratna award, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award and Dhyan Chand Award to the respective winners. National Sports Day 2019 got much more limelight this year after Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched #FitIndiamovement. PM urged the citizens to walk 10,000 steps on this day and induct this habit in their daily life. National Sports Awards 2019 Ceremony Live Streaming From Rashtrapati Bhavan: List of Arjuna Award and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners For This Year. 

Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Thakur, Poonam Yadav and Mohammed Anas Yahiya are some of the popular sportsmen who are going to be conferred with the Arjuna Award. Deepa Malik (para-athletics) and  Bajrang Punia (wrestling) are the winners of Khel Ratna Awards. For Dronacharya Award, Mohinder Singh Dhillon (athletics), Sandeep Gupta (table tennis) and Vimal Kumar (badminton) are the winners for this year.

The event started at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 5 PM on August 29, 2019. Photos from National Sports Awards Ceremony 2019 ceremony were shared by the office of President on Twitter. Press Information Bureau also shared the videos and photos of the ceremony on their official Twitter handle.  Below are the photos and videos from the event.

Well Done!

Manoj Kumar!

Vimal Kumar!

Ajay Thakur!

Deepa Malik!

PM Meets Winners!

Manuel Fredricks!

Live Event!

National Sports Day 2019 is celebrated every year to commemorate the birth anniversary of late Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand. Chand, who was born on August 29 in the year 1905, led India to three Olympic Gold in 1928, 1932 and 1936.  Chand took his last breath in the year 1979.