Imran Khan Elected 22nd Prime Minister by Pakistan's National Assembly
Imran Khan | File Image | (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Islamabad, Aug 17: Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan was on Friday elected as Pakistan's 22nd Prime Minister by the National Assembly.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chief won with 176 seats while his opponent, Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) President Shahbaz Sharif, secured 96 votes, Dawn online reported. Khan, whose party swept the July 25 general election, will take the oath of office on Saturday.