Patna, February 12: RJD leader Awadh Bihari Chaudhary was on Monday removed as Bihar assembly speaker. A no-confidence motion moved by the ruling NDA against the Speaker received the support of 125 MLAs, while 112 members voted against it in the 243-strong assembly. Bihar: No-Confidence Motion Against State Assembly Speaker Awadh Bihari Choudhary Passed, 125 Members Vote in Favour.

Chaudhary had refused to step down after his party lost power a fortnight ago when Chief Minister Nitish Kumar snapped ties with 'Mahagathbandhan' and returned to the BJP-led coalition. BJP MLA Nandkishore Yadav moved the no-confidence motion against the Speaker.