Jammu And Kashmir: Three Militants, Including Lashkar-e-Taiba Commander Nasir Chadru, Gunned Down in Anantnag Encounter
File image of security forces in Kashmir's Anantnag (Photo Credits: IANS)

Srinagar, October 16: Security forces gunned down three terrorists of Hizbul Mujahideen and Lashkar-e-Taiba in an encounter in Jammu and Kashmir's Anantnag district on Wednesday. The slain militants include Lashkar-e-Taiba commander Nasir Chadru. The other two militants were identified as Javed Farooq and Aquib Ahmad. The bodies would be soon handed over to their families, officials said. Jammu And Kashmir: Woman SSP Asks Militants to Surrender During Ramban Encounter, Watch Video.

Security forces launched a cordon and search operation Pazalpora village in Bijbehara area after receiving specific information about a group of militants hiding there. "As the security forces closed on the hiding militants, they fired triggering an encounter. Firing exchanges are still going on in the area," a police officer told IANS.

Last month, security forces killed seven militants, including three from Pakistan, in two encounters in Jammu and Kashmir. One Indian Army soldier died and two policemen were also injured in the operation. Three militants were killed in the Naranag forest area of the Ganderbal district in an encounter with security forces. Another terrorist was killed three days after the encounter began in Ganderbal.

In another encounter, three militants were killed in Thor village of Ramban district. The militants had entered a house and taken its inmates hostage, who were rescued. A soldier was also killed and two cops were injured in the gunfight. The slain terrorists belonged to the Hizbul Mujahideen. Arms and ammunition were seized from them. According to the police, the militants infiltrated with an aim to revive militancy in the Chenab Valley.

These were the gunfights that took place days after the Centre withdrew Jammu and Kashmir's special status under Article 370 and bifurcated the state into two union territories on August 5.