Kallakurichi to Become 33rd District of Tamil Nadu; Created by Bifurcating Villupuram
File image of Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Chennai, January 8: Tamil Nadu government on Tuesday announced a new district Kallakurichi that will be created by bifurcating Villupuram district. With the creation of this Kallakurichi, the state will have now 33 districts. Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami made an announcement in the assembly while replying to the motion of thanks to the Governor. Tamil Nadu CM K Palaniswami Rules Out Resignation of Ministers Facing Graft Charges.

The new district was created as Villupuram covered a vast area and it was becoming difficult to administer this area. The CM in the assembly told that presently, the people of Kallakurichi travel at least 70 km to reach the district collectorate in Villupuram. Palaniswami also claimed that the move to carve out a separate district is aimed at benefitting Kallakurichi residents. Tamil Nadu: Government Employees to Go on Strike; CM K Palaniswami’s Appeal to Call Off Rejected.

The CM also stated that a separate IAS officer and other officers would be appointed to govern the district. All the ruling MLAs supported the decision, while some opposition MLAs opposed it. Villupuram has 11 assembly constituencies and three parliamentary constituencies and the fourth largest district in Tamil Nadu with an area of 7,217 sq km. Tamil Nadu's Anti-corruption Bureau Starts Probe Against CM Palaniswami.

According to reports, Kallakurichi district is expected to have four assembly constituencies and one parliamentary constituency. Before this, Tiruppur was the newest district to be formed in the state in 2008.