AIMIM List of Candidates for Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: First List With Names of 7 Candidates Announced by the Party
AIMIM Chief Asaduddin Owaisi | File Image | (Photo credits: PTI)

Hyderabad, September 11:  The Asaduddin Owaisi led All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has released its first list of seven candidates for Telangana Legislative Assembly elections 2018. The move by AIMIM comes after Telangana Chief Minister K Chandshekhar Rao or KCR, and now the caretaker Chief Minister of the state, decided to dissolve the state assembly on September 6 and call for early elections.

According to news agency, the AIMIM has released its first list which has seven names. As per the information available, candidate Mumtaz Khan will contest from Charminar, Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri has been fielded from Yakutpura, Akbaruddin Owaisi will contest from Chandrayangutta, Mohammad Moazam Khan from Bahadurpura, Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala from the Malakpet seat, Jaffer Hussain Meraj from Nampally and Kausar Mohiuddin, the MLA from Karwan, will once again contest from the seat.

The 119 member Telangana state legislative assembly had 90 elected members from the KCR led TRS, which was also the incumbent ruling party. 13 members were from the Congress, five from BJP, three from TDP and one from the CPI(M).

Earlier, on September 6, Telangana Governor ESL Narasimhan on Thursday dissolved the state assembly following the recommendation from Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao-led cabinet. While dissolving the assembly, the Governor asked Rao, who is popularly known as KCR, to continue as caretaker chief minister until the new government is formed. Telangana Governor Dissolves Assembly, Asks KCR to Continue as Caretaker CM, State Set For Early Polls.

"Both the BJP and the Congress have done nothing for the state. The decision to dissolve assembly is a sacrifice and not a political move. We dissolved the assembly and opted early polls so that development continues in the state," KCR had told media. "No incident of communal violence took place under my watch," the TRS chief added. Telangana CM KCR Decides to Dissolve Assembly, Cabinet Passes Resolution For Early Elections.

KCR also announced a list of 105 candidates for the early polls in the state after dissolving the assembly. Addressing the media after the Telangana Governor ESL Narasimhan dissolved the state assembly, Rao declared district-wise list of Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (TRS) candidates.