Azamgarh Lok Sabha Constituency in Uttar Pradesh Results 2019: Akhilesh Yadav of Samajwadi Party Wins Parliamentary Election
Azamgarh Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

Political giant Akhilesh Yadav of the Samajwadi Party has won from the Azamgarh Lok Sabha Constituency in Uttar Pradesh. Akhilesh Yadav defeated the popular actor turned politician Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirahau of the Bharatiya Janata Party by a margin of 2,59,874 votes. The election here was conducted on May 12, 2019 as per the Phase 6 schedule. The constituency number of this place is PC 69. The counting of votes took place on May 23. A total voter turnout of 54.74 per cent was recorded in this phase of polling in UP, as per Election Commission of India.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections

Akhilesh Yadav from the Samajwadi Party (SP), Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirahau from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Anil Singh from the Rashtriya Ulama Council and Abhimanyu Singh Sunny from the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party contested from this constituency.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase VI: List of States And Constituencies Voting On May 12

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Schedule for Azamgarh Constituency:

Issue of Notification April 16
Last date for filing nomination April 23
Scrutiny of nomination April 24
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 26
Date Of Poll May 12
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Phase 6 of Lok Sabha Polls

The last general election in the year 2014 was won by Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Mulayam Singh Yadav who bagged the total of  3,40,306 votes and is also the current MP on the seat. The runner up of the election was Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Ramakant Yadav with a total of 2,77,102 votes.