Basmath Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Maharashtra: Chandrakant Alias Rajubhaiyya Ramakant Nawghare of NCP Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Basmath Vidhan Sabha Seat (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Mumbai, October 16: The result has been declared for Basmath Vidhan Sabha constituency on Thursday. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate Chandrakant Alias Rajubhaiyya Ramakant Nawghare defeated the nearest independent Adv Shivaji Munjajirao Jadhav by a margin of over 8,000 votes. The Basmath assembly seat is a part of Maharashtra's Hingoli parliamentary constituency. Assembly Elections Results 2019: BJP-Shiv Sena Alliance Gets Clear Mandate in Maharashtra; Hung House in Haryana.

In the 2014 Maharashtra assembly elections, the saffron alliance of BJP-Sena returned to power after a hiatus of 15 years. Both the parties had contested without a pre-poll pact, and had ended up winning 122 and 63 seats, respectively. The Congress and the NCP -- which also fought without a pre-election alliance -- were reduced to 42 and 41 seats, respectively. Following the polls, the BJP and Sena sealed a post-election coalition to jointly form the government.

The main contest for the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly was between ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) -- which has allied with Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena, and Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) which contested the elections in alliance with Congress.

Along with Maharashtra, the state of Haryana went also went to polls on October 21. In both states, the pollsters had given the edge to the BJP. In Maharashtra, the BJP-Sena alliance was predicted to bag up to 205 out of the 288 constituencies, as per one of the opinion polls.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Balasaheb Desai DeshmukhIND843
Jadhav Shivaji NanduIND812
Chandrakant Alias Rajubhaiyya Ramakant NawghareNCP75321
Raghunath Subhanji SuryawanshiIND747
Adv. Shivaji Munjajirao JadhavIND67070
Jadhav Shivaji DhanjuIND528
Ashok (Samrat) Sambhaji GaikwadIND480
Mundada Jaiprakash ShankarlalSHS41557
Shaikh Farid Alias Munir Isak PatelVBA25397
Gautam Marotrao DipkeBSP1177
Avez AnsariAmbedkar National CongressNA
Kondiba Gounaji MaskeAmbedkarite Party of IndiaNA