Bhograi, Basta, Balasore, Remuna, Nilgiri Assembly Elections Results 2019 in Odisha: BJD Wins 3 Seats, BJP 2
Image used for illustration purpose

The Election Commission of India declared the results of Odisha assembly elections 2019 today. While the BJD has won Bhograi, Basta and Remuna constituencies, the Nilgiri and Balasore constituencies have been wrested by the BJP. These five constituencies were contested in the fourth phase of the elections, held on April 29. Odisha Election Results 2019 Live News Updates: BJD Leading in Both Assembly, Lok Sabha Seats; BJP Distant 2nd

Results of 2014: The BJD had won 4 of these 5 assembly seats in the last assembly elections. Their sitting legislator from Nilgiri has, however, crossed over to the BJP.

Out of these assembly segments, four - Bhograi, Basta, Balasore and Nilgiri - fall under general category, whereas, Remuna is reserved for scheduled castes (SC) community.

Bhograi, Basta, Balasore, Remuna, Nilgiri Assembly Elections 2019: Candidates, Poll Dates, Results Of Odisha Vidhan Sabha Seats


Congress Candidate  Satyasiba Das
BJD Candidate  Ananta Das
BJP Candidate  Anshuman Mohanty
Past Winner (Current MLA) Ananta Das - BJD
Poll Date  April 29


Congress Candidate Bijan Nayak
BJD Candidate Nityananda Sahu
BJP Candidate Raghunath Monathy
Past Winner (Current MLA) Nityanand Sahoo - BJD
Poll Date  April 29


Congress Candidate  Manas Das Patnaik
BJD Candidate  Jeevan Pradeep Das
BJP Candidate  Madan Mohan Dutta
Past Winner (Current MLA) Jiban Pradeep Dash - BJD
Poll Date  April 29


Congress Candidate  Pratap Sethi
BJD Candidate  Sudhansu Sekhar Parida
BJP Candidate  Gobind Chandra Das
Past Winner (Current MLA) Gobind Chandra Das - BJP
Poll Date  April 29


Congress Candidate Manoj Manjari Debi
BJD Candidate Santosh Khatua
BJP Candidate Sukanta Nayak
Past Winner (Current MLA) Sukanta Nayak - BJP
Poll Date  April 29

Voting for the Odisha assembly elections 2019 commenced on April 11, when the first phase of the contest was held. As per the scheduled prepared by the polling body, the state will elect its MLAs in four phases, ending on April 29. Results will be declared on May 23. In the last assembly elections, the government of Naveen Patnaik was re-elected to power, with the BJD winning 107 of the 147 vidhan sabha seats, whereas, the Congress and the BJP were restricted to 16 and 10 constituencies, respectively.