Burdwan Durgapur Lok Sabha Constituency Results 2019 in West Bengal: SS Ahluwalia of BJP Wins Parliamentary Election
Bardhaman-Durgapur Lok Sabha Constituency.Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Bardhaman - Durgapur Lok Sabha Constituency was declared today. The counting of votes began on the Bardhaman - Durgapur Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. SS Ahluwalia of BJP defeated TMC's Dr Mamtaz Sanghamita by a margin of 89,311 votes.

Voting took place for the Bardhaman - Durgapur seat in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 76 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Bardhaman - Durgapur Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Dr Mamtaz Sanghamitra. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the CPI(M) candidate – Saidul Haque. AITC has fielded the same candidate this time. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI(M) has fielded Abhas Roy Chowdhury, while Congress has announced Ranajit Mukherjee as their candidate. BJP has announced SS Ahluwalia as their candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 13,53,380 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 6,43,956 are females while 7,09,424 are males. The average literacy rate is 89 per cent, and the main occupation of people is agriculture. The female to male ratio is 922.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Fourth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 2
Last date for filing nomination April 9
Scrutiny of nomination April 10
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 12
Date Of Poll April 29
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Bardhaman-Durgapur Lok Sabha elections begun on April 2, which continued till April 9. The scrutiny was done on April 10, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was on April 12. The polling took place on April 29.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 4 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.