Kalanwali (SC) Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Haryana: Shishpal Singh of Congress Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Kalanwali (SC) Assembly Elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Chandigarh, October 24: Shishpal Singh of the Congress  won the Kalanwali (SC) Vidhan Sabha constituency. Singh defeated his nearest rival Shiromani Akali Dal's Rajinder Singh Desujodha by a margin of 19,243 votes. The Congress candidate received 52,952 votes, while Desujodha got 33,743 votes. Sitting MLA Balkaur Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came at third spot. The counting of votes began on October 24 at 8 am. Haryana Assembly Elections 2019: Full List of Constituencies With Current MLA Names and How BJP, Congress, INLD Performed in 2014.

The Kalanwali (SC) Vidhan Sabha constituency falls in the Sirsa district of Haryana. The seat is reserved for scheduled cates. Voting in Kalanwali for the Haryana Assembly Elections 2019 took place on October 21. The Election Commission of India (ECI) on September 21 announced the election schedule for Haryana. There were 1.82 crore registered voters in the state.

Polling for the 90-member Haryana assembly was held along with assembly elections in Maharashtra. According to the schedule of Haryana polls announced by the Election Commission, nomination papers were filed till October 4. Nomination papers were scrutinised on October 5. The last date of withdrawal of candidature was October 7.Assembly Elections 2019 Dates: Maharashtra & Haryana Go to Polls in Single-Phase on October 21, Results on October 24.

The main competition in Haryana was between the ruling BJP and the Congress. However, the newly formed JPP managed to dent vote share of both the parties. Haryana Legislative Assembly comprises of 90 seats out of which 17 seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) and none for Scheduled Tribes (ST). In the 2014 polls in the state, the BJP had won with a thumping majority and had scripted history in the state. The BJP had won 47 seats, while the Congress managed to win only 15 seats.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Shishpal SinghINC53059
Kashmir Chand OadIND528
Balkaur SinghBJP30134
Karnail Singh OdhanBSP1401
Nirmal Singh MalriJannayak Janta PartyNA
Pargat Singh BhiwanHaryana Lokhit PartyNA
Rajinder Singh DesujodhaShiromani Akali DalNA
Virender SinghJannayak Janta PartyNA